2016 awards honour both lifetime achievement and young researchers

Each year The Union presents awards at The Union World Conference on Lung Health and the General Assembly of members.  This year six awards were presented, all honouring contributions to tuberculosis and lung health.

The Union Medal is The Union’s highest honour and traditionally awarded to an individual who has made a significant commitment to TB control or lung health. This year, the recipient is the highly respected and tireless career-long advocate for TB patients, Dr Lee Reichman (United States of America).

The Karel Styblo Public Health Prize was awarded to the Japan Anti-Tuberculosis Association (JATA) for their contribution and commitment to tuberculosis control for more than 70 years.

The Union Scientific Prize went to Dr Andreas Diacon (South Africa), professor at Stellenbosch University, Cape Town and Chief Executive Officer of Task Applied Science, for his research on TB and investigations into development of new TB drugs.

The Young Investigator Prize to Dr Rein Houben (United Kingdom), infectious disease epidemiologist, recognised for his research focusing on LTBI and structural drivers of TB.

The Princess Chichibu Global Memorial TB Award was presented to Asma el Sony (Sudan) by Prof Shoji Kudoh, Chairman, Board of Directors, JATA. Asma el Sony, former President of The Union, is Director of the Epidemiological Laboratory (Epi-Lab) in Khartoum since 2005. Based on her successful experience with TB control, Prof El Sony has been involved in providing technical assistance to national tuberculosis control programmes in a number of countries.

The Otsuka/ Union Young Innovator in TB Research Award was awarded to Dr Manish Pareek (United Kingdom) for research into TB and migrant screening.

In addition, at the General Assembly Prof Christopher Kuaban was made Honorary Member of The Union.

The winners of this year’s Christmas Seals Contest were revealed at the General Assembly:

1st prize: The Tuberculosis Association of India
2nd prize:  Taiwan Anti-Tuberculosis Association
3rd prize: Japan Anti-Tuberculosis Association